Back to My Mac

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by iridium130, May 13, 2008.

  1. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    How many other people use this? I finally signed up for a trial of .Mac yesterday and I want to be able to use Back to My Mac on my iBook to connect to my iMac while I'm at work. However, there doesn't seem to be much documentation on this and my iMac doesn't show up in my Shared places once I'm on a different network :hs:

    Both have screen sharing and back to my mac enabled, still no luck :hs:

    Any ideas? :x:

    If I can get this to work, I'll shell out the $70 for .Mac (Amazon w00t) :wiggle:
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    thats the only reason i bought .mac and it doesnt work for me - apple tech support tried but couldn't help.
     
  3. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
  4. makaze

    makaze New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Mine works while at work, however I'm behind a cable modem and router on both ends.

    If I plug into my work network, their filters keep me from getting to my home machine.
     
  5. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    Anybody know how to keep your shared computers in your Shared Places in Finder? :x:
     
  6. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
  7. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    BtmM is a nice feature, but if your work / remote site / whatever is filtering that sort of traffic, it's not going to work for you, so YMMV. :dunno:
     
  8. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    MTMM has a reputation of basically never working.
     
  9. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    for most people, it's getting dynamic DNS to work that's the harder part.
     

Share This Page