Azureus = resource hog?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by VoOdOoVyPeR, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    for anybody who knows about, or has this application may know what im talking about. the BT client "Azureus" has been giving me trouble lately. I'll run it for hours, but, the first few hours it takes up like 1-3% of my system resources. after like, ooooh say 4-5 hours, itll start taking upwards of 90-99% and my comp runs like ass. im forced to restart the program and repeat the cycle over and over again. gets to be tedius because then I have to keep resetting my connections to peers and seeders.

    if anybody knows about this, please help, thanks.
     
  2. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    It's been running for 3 days on my laptop, currently seeding 5, downloading 4, taking up 0% CPU.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    It's written in Java, and the Java VM is fairly heavy. Maybe upgrade your version of Java, I haven't really had any trouble with Azureus under Java 1.5.0.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's God's way of telling you not to pirate :mamoru:

    btw, Java == fat.
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hey, he might be downloading Linux with it :p

    :mamoru:
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that is certainly possible... However, possibility is far from probability :mamoru:
     
  7. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    haha, what im dling is......it sounds like "Phorza Moetursporet"
    ill check my java version, thanks...
     
  8. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    i use BT for lots of legal downloads/uploads.

    A lot of new DL sites (like fileplanet) support BT with no waits. It's awesome IMO.
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, I probably download about equal parts legit stuff/pirated stuff with BT actually.
     
  10. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  11. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    when I used BT, I used TorrentStorm. Seemed to work great, but since the demise of 'nova, I quit using BT completely.
     
  12. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Azureus actually runs pretty well, despite sun's best effort to create the worst language ever. Plus last time I ran it, ABC had a memory leak.
     

Share This Page