WEB aweber crew: adding opt-in code formatting v.pics

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Falconer, May 7, 2009.

  1. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had a lightbox on my site but decided that was annoying and obtrusive and people would probably close the box before they had a chance to look around my site and then have no way to sign up, and I wanted to change to to just a regular form somewhere on the page where people can enter their info if they want.

    So I created the form on aweber's website and then pasted the code into my site.

    I was expecting a nice little box with the code in it (like how it is on the aweber demo), but instead it was spread out and unformatted through my entire page. I emailed aweber and asked what I was doing wrong and they said they don't offer formatting and I have to format it myself. I'm kind of annoyed because in their presell they said "we generate all the code so you don't have to be technical," but apparently that's not true.

    So, in order to constrain it to a nice little box, is all I have to do create a table of width 400 or whatever and then paste the aweber code in that table? I did that and it appears to be working but I want to make sure I'm not missing something somewhere.

    In other words, this is how it looks, it's just kinda splayed over the width of the entire page:

    [​IMG]



    And this is how I want it to look:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    try putting it in a table
     
  3. fishbulb

    fishbulb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,848
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    md
    All that time spent drawing and you couldn't just try it? I'm confused..
     
  4. Phasm

    Phasm OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    9,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    or a div


    btw, you available for freelance design work? Your stuff looks sick...
     
  5. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    You couldn't afford me :mamoru:
     
  6. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have it in a table, i just wanted to make sure that was "ok" to do since I've done stuff before that I thought was ok but was actually bad.
     
  7. 666

    666 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los_Angeles,_CA Location: Los_Angeles,_CA Location
    <div style="float: right">

    blahh

    </div>
     
  8. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^ thanks that works better than the table I was using :)
     
  9. jizzmo

    jizzmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    could use colorbox...
     
  10. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    :mamoru:
     

Share This Page