Autocad on a Mac?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nogud, Aug 22, 2007.

  1. nogud

    nogud Almost, but not quite, entirely unlike tea.

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'm thinking of finally replacing my laptop and was thinking of maybe switching to a macbook pro.
    I know autocad isn't available for mac, but does anyone use it running parallels or something? I've read it's possible but that it has some issues.
    I know there are some alternatives but it really has to be autocad.
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    parallels would work
     
  3. fishyhell

    fishyhell muscle68>catholic school children

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    parallels works... but depending what year autocad your running you should probably bootcamp it. I had both autocad and solidworks running in bootcamp just fine on a MBP (a friends).

    and sadly there are NO alternatives.
     
  4. fuzion1029

    fuzion1029 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    anybody know about ProE for this?
     
  5. urbnkitten

    urbnkitten New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco
    whats the difference between using parallels or bootcamp for autocad?
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Parallels = Virtual
    Bootcamp = Native
     

Share This Page