Auto Cad program for the Mac?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gene Starwind, Sep 25, 2003.

  1. Hey guys. I have taken a shine to designing stuff and I was wondering if anyone knows of an auto cad type of program for Mac OSX. TIA
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Uh oh, I'm being called upon... I've never really used CAD software, so I don't have any specific suggestions. Searching versiontracker.com I also came accross CADintosh, but it seems to be getting some bad reviews and DigiCAD 3D, which doesn't have any reviews. I'm also seeing one called LightWorks, also with no reviews.

    I guess just try some out... I'll ask my Mac buddy and the guys at work who use CAD and see if they know of any.
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Weird.. Aren't Mac's supposed to be all about graphics and design?

    I wonder why AutoDesk hasn't released a Mac version.
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yea, I was wondering that myself... I think Macs aren't used so much for CAD type stuff, more for PhotoShop type stuff.
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Not much a difference really.. Although one is for imaging and one is for design, its basically very similiar?
     
  7. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    I had taken an AutoCAD class and had done AutoCAD work for Ford for a little bit. That was back in '94 so its been a while. I don't know the exact reasons why Autodesk folks left out the Mac, but I believe it had been available for Unix and is available for Windows. Macs didn't have a strong following in the business/engineering sectors so the folks at Autodesk probably weren't concerned about creating a Mac edition. At the couple businesses I've seen use AutoCAD, they were all Wintel shops.
     
  8. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Because engineers know how to use real computers?





    j/k :p, Might be a right tool for the right job kinda situation though?
     
  9. Jazz

    Jazz Powerhouse of the Scrum

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    www.ashlar.com

    graphite is what you're looking for. we have the entire selection of ashlar products on our lab computes...they all work beautifully
     
  10. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  11. basically I want something that will let me deign things in 3D, add colors and textures, add bolts and welds, let me rotate the entire thing and view it in 3D from all angles and sides. Maybe a CAD program isnt what i need. Anybody know of anything that will do what i want to do? thanks
     
  12. Jazz

    Jazz Powerhouse of the Scrum

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    did you click on the link I posted?...I'd put ashlar's products slightly below autocad in terms of 2d drafting, but for what you've described Ashlar makes much nicer products than autodesk.
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Since when? The engineers I work with find Windows 98 hard to use.
     

  14. yeah, i downloaded the free 2 week demo and i have been playing with it a little. but im getting the feeling its WAY too complex for what I want to do. Hell I cant even figure out how to draw a round tube! :wtc:
     
  15. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Touche :o. My first year CAD teacher had no clue how to use AutoCAD, he told us he just didn't want to read the AutoCAD LT 97 User's Manual.
    It may have taken me all four years of High School, but I got him pretty good at it.
     

Share This Page