Audi R8

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by aquabat911sc, Oct 2, 2007.

1. aquabat911sc

aquabat911sc New Member

This is my first post in anything but initiation, so I thought I would introduce myself. I am an editor for a car magazine so I am always driving interesting stuff. I figured I would post up pics and maybe get some conversations started on what people think of the different cars.

The last couple of days I have been driving around in an R8. Incredible car. It is competitve with anything out there in the 100K price range. It's fast, comfortable, handles incredibly, looks sexy as hell and the V8 sounds like an offshore racer.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. It looks like they took a TT, put it on a photocopier at 120%, made tweaks to the front, and added some sheet metal to the back.

3. MrBonus

MrBonus Et Tu, Brute?

Welcome to the forum. So how does it compare to the plethora of 997s you've driven?

4. art_VW_shark

art_VW_shark OT Supporter

your job :bowdown:

5. aquabat911sc

aquabat911sc New Member

Price-wise everyone wants to compare it to a GT3, but they are very different cars. The GT3 is a great track car that you could live with on the street, for the most part. The R8 is almost the opposite. An amazing car for the street that you could track occasionaly. While it doesn't have huge amounts of body roll, the suspension is just not set-up for track work on the R8. It wouldn't take much to get it there however. The balance of the car is obviously better than a 911 and you can slide it around fairly easily for an all-wheel drive car.

The R8 looks and feels more "exotic" than the 911. Driving around in the R8 is like being a rockstar. I have never seen so many cell phone cameras before. The seating position is lower and more reclined, the dash and center console seem higher and feels more like a cockpit rather than race car. I actually prefer the seating position in a 911 a little more for serious driving.