Attn. Intel Mac Crew v.convincemetomaketheswitch

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The_Kids_Are_Alright, Mar 5, 2006.

1. The_Kids_Are_Alright

The_Kids_Are_Alright New Member

Alright Mac Crew, in light of the fact that I have a really shitty PC that I'm going to be getting rid of I am considering getting my firtst Mac... thus I am a complete newb. So if I were to get a Mac I would be looking at the 2.0Ghz MacBook Pro, and the first thing that comes to mind is Lack of recognizable software... basically what are some tips to making the switch, software advice, where to get Apple software cheap, ect.

Also what RAM does the MacBook use? I plan on upgrading to 2GB.

My PC laptop of choice at the moment, in the price range, is an Acer Travelmate 8200, how does the MacBook stack up? (assuming you know anything about this comp.)

I have heard talk of sudent discounts, are these from your school/ college or through Apple?
    tldr; convence me to make the switch to the MacBook Pro
    PS: Does anyone know of a good Torrent site/ tracker to get either Final Cut or Aperature from?

Thanks,
    -TKAA

2. Rev. Johnny Vegas

Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

Software wise, the majority of the stuff you'll want is free or can be purchased very cheap (i.e. $20). The only apps on my Powerbook that are "off the shelf" types are Photoshop, M$ Office and Virtual PC. Everything else either came with the computer (OSX and iLife) or I've downloaded. There is a thread stuck at the top of the forum with "Must Have Software" and links to much of it like Adium (IM client), Transparent Dock, etc.