ATTN iMac OWNERS: Is there a way to run the imac without the memory door?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Lat, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    I recently bought a 1gb stick of ram for my CD imac, but it's about 1mm too tall, and the latch won't close properly, which won't let the machine turn on. I don't want to go through the hassle of returning the ram to newegg. Am I screwed??
     
  2. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    is the memory registered or ecc or something? they are usually taller and could prevent the machine from booting.

    I dont think the memory door has a switch, but ive never tried it. Take the suspect module out, leave the door open and see if it will boot.
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :bigthumb:
     
  4. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    This is what I got :dunno:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820155010
     
  5. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    Yeah, it was installed properly. It clicked when I inserted the ram.
     
  6. TFunkadelic

    TFunkadelic One Nation Under A Groove

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it also not boot if you have the old ram in on its own with the door open?
     
  7. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    just call newegg and ask explain that the chip you bought doesn't fit. I sure they can help you from there
     
  8. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    IIRC newegg's RMA policy for RAM is really strict... if it works but you fucked up the order (i.e. it's anything but DOA) you might have a hard time getting a return. :dunno:
     
  9. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :dunno: more power to ya, I just read in the reviews that they are sticklers for memory returns.
     
  10. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    I'm sure it works, but it's 1mm taller than OEM and the door won't close. I'll just tell them to send another stick of ram that will fit :dunno:
     
  11. MAD PUNK inDC

    MAD PUNK inDC Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    86,393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    the machine
    if you are certain the ram isn't bad, or incompatable, and it is ONLY 1mm, you might be able to shave the extra off with a dremel tool enough to get the door closed. You have to check for any traces, and be very carefull to measure before you do this though. I've had to do it before in other situations and haven't had any problems.
     
  12. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    Be smart and try the suggestion above to pull that module, leave the door open, and see if it boots.
     

Share This Page