Attempting to reformat my comp...Need some help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BlueadderGTP, Jan 1, 2003.

  1. BlueadderGTP

    BlueadderGTP Ragin Cajun?

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Messages:
    36,560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans
    I use XP, but I am going to reformat. I would like to start fresh.

    But when I start up in safe mode with command prompt, I can't format, because windows is actually running.

    I don't know how to work around this. Any help?

    Thanks
    Jacob
     
  2. Devious

    Devious OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    put in your xp disk ... restart computer. The cd should take over before windows has a chance to boot up (or else you have to change boot settings so that the cd drive is checked before your hard disk) Once the xp cd is loaded then it should give you the options to be reformatting, etc.
     
  3. BlueadderGTP

    BlueadderGTP Ragin Cajun?

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Messages:
    36,560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans
    I get a screen that says "Hit any key to Boot from CD"

    I do that and then it gives me the option of either installing XP pro or booting from the disc. Nothing about reformating though.
     
  4. Devious

    Devious OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    try the 'install xp pro' and then eventually it will ask u if you want to be installing from a clean disk and will format it for you.
     
  5. BlueadderGTP

    BlueadderGTP Ragin Cajun?

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Messages:
    36,560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans
    ah, thanks, I'll give that a shot
     

Share This Page