Attaching external harddrives to the network.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by phatguy88, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. phatguy88

    phatguy88 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,091
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    boston
    I have 2 external HDs with usb 2.0 hookup.What would be easiest way to connect both to my router so they can be seen on my home network? Someone mentioned NAS so i've been looking them up and the ones I'm seeing only have SATA and not usb.

    Can anyone tell me any specific products I should be looking for?
     
  2. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes, that USB to NAS adapter works
    avoid the 'hub' types (1 ethernet, many usb),... those suck

    or get a router with 'Plug-N-Share' USB ports (e.g. Airport Extreme, Asus WL-500W, etc)

    or replace the enclosure
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I have a Linksys NSLU2 NAS and I'm pretty happy with it. It allows for 2 drives to be hooked up to it.
     
  5. phatguy88

    phatguy88 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,091
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    boston
    I've been reading reviews and it says the drive must be linux partition. My drive is already formatted fat32. Is there another one like this that doesn't have that limitation?
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Oh, forgot about that... There are 2 USB ports on the back of the unit. IIRC, port 1 must be Linux, and port 2 can read ntfs/fat32. I'd double check on google though... I haven't messed with it since I set it up.

    Or like said above, pickup a router with the ports built in.
     
  7. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    Install FreeNAS or Openfiler on an old computer.
     
  8. Rumbaar

    Rumbaar Inherent Omniscience OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,232
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Are you able to remove the HDD from the enclosures? If so your options will be better. If they are fixed, then you need to look for a router/NAS that allows for multiple external USB connected devices.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can always remove the HDD from the enclosure, even if you have to destroy the enclosure to do it. They're all just IDE or SATA hard drives on the inside.

    You'll be much happier if you buy a cheap computer off eBay and put the drives in that, instead of buying some proprietary box that connects to your network and runs god-knows-what version of *nix. File sharing permissions are a bitch to deal with between different kinds of operating systems, if you don't know what you're doing, and while I mean no offense, you almost certainly don't know how to do that properly.
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Why buy another computer when you can just buy a NAS unit or a router with the USB ports built in? For free, you could add them to an existing PC and just share the drives. I wouldn't worry too much about the permissions as it sounds like it's for home use.
     
  11. Minh Lam

    Minh Lam Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    so what does NAS do? It gives these hard drives an IP address? Do we browse to the hard disk via UNC? like start run \\IP address
     
  12. Fase

    Fase Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ont, Canada.
    Yes.
     
  13. Minh Lam

    Minh Lam Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Do they come with management software as such? So you initially set them up first like format etc.

    What about security like access rights?


    Whats the difference between NAS and SAN?

    Thanks in Advance
     

Share This Page