ati video cards are bs, they dont support multimonitor setups.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bob-dc2, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. bob-dc2

    bob-dc2 Expanse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8,774
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    fucking stupid as hell.

    you cant run directx which means it wont play full screen video smoothly.

    i just got this to replace
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=14-164-044&depa=1

    my current ati card
    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...y_id=6171&first=true&page=productlisting.aspx

    only reason I got the ati from dell was that when I ordered my 2005fpw I needed another dollar to pad the price so I could get another coupon. I was either going to buy a 20 dollar camera case I didnt need or get 20 bucks off a new vid card.

    I thought it was on my end why I couldnt enable directX. So I created a support ticket and they tell me this
    "Be aware that our cards will not run if other graphics cards are in the system, even if they where ATI graphics cards."

    doesnt that seem stupid?
    Maybe this is just for PCI shit because its old and busted and the pros are running pci-e or agp slots.
    anyway my card should be here next week so I dont have to fuck with this ati bs.
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    my ATI 9600xt runs fine in multimonitor mode
     
  3. bob-dc2

    bob-dc2 Expanse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8,774
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    is it agp?

    it must be pci only then.

    which i guess is kinda ok, but they should have fixed the problem or updated the software by now and not offer an important feature on products that are still in the market place and will be around for another 1-2+ years.
     
  4. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,787
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Dude, it's PCI - gimme a break.
     
  5. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    Dude, my old 9600XT I sold to a buddy ran that shit fine.
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I've ran dual monitors for a year on my 9700 pro no problem. Maybe the PCI bus doesn't have enough bandwidth for two monitors.
     
  7. bob-dc2

    bob-dc2 Expanse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8,774
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    im not talking about running 2 monitors off one card on one pci slot.

    I have 3 cards running off 3 pci slots.

    yeah its PCI, its old tech but they should still have fixed the issue.

    i use this computer for work and play some unreal04 every once in a while.
     
  8. bob-dc2

    bob-dc2 Expanse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8,774
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    when you say "ran that shit fine"

    were you able to activate directX?

    thats the main problem im having. because directx really helps with video playback. ut2004 wont even load without directx enabled.
     
  9. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    afaik directx will only work on 1 monitor (main)
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    OpenGL > DX9
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i dont know what exactly your saying. i can run directx applications with two monitors :dunno:
     
  12. ProFX

    ProFX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU.
    I have used 3 screens with 1x AGP and 2x PCI. There were no issues.
     
  13. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    is this true?
     
  14. bob-dc2

    bob-dc2 Expanse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8,774
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    no thats wrong.

    I have 2 nvidia cards, each running a monitor and directx is enabled on both of them.
     
  15. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    then maybe it's per-card?
     
  16. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    dunno but i have WoW on my secondary...
     
  17. bob-dc2

    bob-dc2 Expanse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    8,774
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newport Beach
    I got my new ati video card in today :wiggle:

    no more fucking around with the ati.
     
  18. sporff

    sporff We're rotten fruit. We're damaged goods.

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    11,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    you can't exactly bash all ATI cards because of the cheapy one that you bought
     

Share This Page