Athlon 64 or P4 HT for lots of multitasking?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jerboy, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. Jerboy

    Jerboy Guest

    I want to be able to encode video/music/file compression all while surfing the web and playing music without the computer stuttering or having to put encoding to low priority.

    My understanding is P4 HT is specifically designed to handle such usage better whereas A64 is better where you only do one thing at time and a massive CPU demanding task at that such as gaming.

    Anyone?
     
  2. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    Sure but no matter what processor, those extra processes can degrade the quality of the encoded/compressed file so keep that in mind.
     
  3. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    probably a toss up between the 2 processors... but I would throw as much ram as I could afford at it.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    P4 excels in the tasks you wish to perform. Given two similar systems (one a P4 with HT, and the other an AMD64) I would rather have the P4.
     
  5. Stilgar

    Stilgar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    take the p4 for heavy loads with multitasking. all benchmarks have shown that it outperforms the a64.
     
  6. Toaster Oven

    Toaster Oven Guest

    Uh no :hsugh:

    Extra processes will slow down the encoding but the final output will be the same.
     
  7. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    No.
     
  8. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    WTF are you talking about? Unless he's encoding realtime/live video/audio feeds, then YES he may lose a few frames or sound segments, but otherwise it'll only just take longer to encode w/ the same results
     
  9. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    :slap:
     
  10. waldo98

    waldo98 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    SoCal
    P4 with HT for multi-tasking.
     
  11. Toaster Oven

    Toaster Oven Guest

    Simple MD5 Checksum proves you wrong you retard. :rofl:
    Now :gtfo:
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    MD5 does *nothing* to show quality of the file.
     
  13. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    it will show that a movie encoded while under extra load, and a movie encoded while there was no extra load are exactly the same.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    when encoding the same file, yes -- it shows that a digital (binary) file written twice is the same exact file.

    But you can't compare two different files in terms of "quality".

    I guess I misunderstood you.
     
  15. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    what... the... fuck... ???

    This guy can't be for real
     

Share This Page