At what point to her financial problems become an issue?

Discussion in 'Vaginarium' started by IslanderOffRoad, Apr 2, 2008.

1. IslanderOffRoad

IslanderOffRoad Do you even lift kit? OT Supporter

My girlfriend cannot manage money. She constantly overdraws her bank account, makes payments late, and just accepts that NSF fees are part of her life. She has credit cards she hasn't used in years that are maxed out. that she only makes minimum payments on. Her cell phone got shut off for a week because she missed the payment.

We do not live together. We do not share any bills. I also do not help her financially, nor has she ever asked.

However, it seems like a constant battle for her to keep her head above water financially. As I worked in banking and am pretty good at managing my money, she constantly comes to me for advice. I give that advice, but she never seems to take it. She won't go to her parents to help her (she's still in college and works part time while going to school). Last week we had a 4 hour phone conversation about it because she had a breakdown over it, agreed she was going to start doing some things differently, but has not. She was going to look for another job that paid better, but still won't start looking.

I don't know what to do. I love her, we've been dating for 4 years now. But I cannot see myself living with her or making any further steps in our relationship until she learns how to manage money. I don't need someone else destroying my credit, or running up my cards.

At what point does one say that they can't stay with someone financially? While none of this has affected my finances, it is taxing on our relationship.

2. iwishyouwerebeer

iwishyouwerebeer you shut your cunt Moderator

We've actually talked about this quite a bit in the Vag. People seem to think all you need is love in a relationship for things to work...but those people are idiots :mamoru: