ASUS Blitz Formula vs. Abit IP35 Pro

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robo, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. Robo

    Robo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    13,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    La Nouvelle-Orléans
    Can't make up my mind which one.
    I may be able to get the Blitz for about $325. (Like double the price of the Abit.)

    So the ASUS Blitz Formula SE or Abit IP35 Pro (Saving money, having similar performance, and the ability to upgrade later when x38 starts kicking ass)?

    Rest of the PC:
    Q6600 G0
    2GB Corsair Dominator DDR1066
    eVGA 8800gtx
    150GB Raptor
    Antec TPQ 850 (got a damned good deal but I might sell it and go with a Corsair HX620 less wattage but slightly better quality/cooling/sound)
    Vista Ultimate 64bit (Yes, 64. Everything I plan to do with this PC will be fine, I'll still have my current XP box/notebook for other shit.)
    Antec P182SE

    I plan to do some overclocking, nothing crazy, the best I can do 100% stable. Staying on air for now, no water yet.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yeah, almost same performance on most benchmarks, but big price diff.

    The main disadvantage of the Abit is the gigabit LAN lies on PCI, not on PCI-E which is faster. This will be an issue if you transfer large files through a network.

    I have the Abit IP35 Pro.
    Build pics here: http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=3393457

    Great board, though it has large vDroops. This will affect your OC.
    That is probably the only complaint I have. At first, I hated the SATA ports, but it just turned out fine.

    I was considering the Asus Blitz and X38 for my 2nd Q6600 G0, but I decided to hold that build and wait for X48 instead. Intel will push it early to rape AMD more, and nForce as well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2007
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The problem is the efficiency of the 2 gigabit ethernet ports.
    The PCI bus' maximum bandwidth is 133 MB/s.
    Each Gigabit Ethernet can transfer 125 MB/s.
    Working at the same time, at full speed, both will require 250 MB/s bandwidth.
    So the PCI's 133 MB/s falls short. Not a problem if with PCIe.

    Of course, this will not be an issue with casual users.
     
  4. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    blitz is fucking stupid expensive
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Good, just want to make sure that's not an issue with you.

    So what else makes you undecided between the 2 boards?
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    fwiw, the 74gb Raptor is bit faster than the 150gb version.

    Better to put the os on the 74gb, and use a bigger drive for backup.
     
  7. Robo

    Robo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    13,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    La Nouvelle-Orléans
    Nice build :coold: mine will be roughly the same, hopefully so will my overclock.

    I think I'm gonna say fuck the Blitz. It is just too expensive for what it is, and too hard to get my hands on.

    I've heard great things about the IP35 and they bench around the same anyway. And the fact is the abit is half the price almost, and i can always upgrade later.
    I'm mildly worried about the vdroop, but I doubt it will really hurt much.
    Not worried TOO much about the gigabit lan ports really. As far as using it for file transfer over the network, any files I need to transfer from my old PC will be stored on an external HD for safekeeping anyway and either kept there or transferred from that most likely via eSATA.

    I know the 74gb raptor is faster, but I got a pretty good deal on the 150. I'm going from IDEs, shit ill be happy with any speed increase even if it isn't the very fastest possible. I will have a 2nd drive for storage, 320gb.

    I still need to get the cooler + paste and optical drives too.
     
  8. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I would personally go for the ASUS... Abit has such terrible tech support and RMA policies... the ASUS is definitely better in that aspect.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's a shame how many of the parts manufacturers have such horrible customer service.

    I once rma'd a Soyo motherboard, and the one they sent me to replace it didn't have the fucking cmos battery.

    I had the bitch installed before I realized it.

    That plus the fact that I had to chase them for over a month just for the rma number, well needless to say it's the last Soyo product I'll ever purchase.
     
  10. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah, I know what you mean. ASUS is pretty bad too IMHO, but better than Abit. ASUS has been trying to get my company to sell their products for the last month or so, but until they fix their RMA/support shit, I'm pretty hesitant.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Both have great boards, both have bad support.
    No matter how you look at it,... the huge price diff will be the deciding factor here.
     
  12. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    For the vDroop,... it is not constant. Mine is 0.04V, it gets worse on load. If you buy the board, yours might be different.
    Just add enough voltage headroom to compensate for the droop.
    More voltage = more heat, so watch your temps.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007

Share This Page