ASUS A8V Deluxe help?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Michael Westen, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. Michael Westen

    Michael Westen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    12,356
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    I just got my new system up and running, ASUS A8V Deluxe mobo

    AMD 64 3000+ 939 pin processor

    I have a 80gb HD but the computer thinks its only 2gb :ugh: .... looks like this could be a system bios problem, i found the file to upgrade but have no idea how to install it, anybody know how? :noes:
     
  2. seven

    seven New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    25,542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    i had too many prohblems with that MB, i got rid of it.
     
  3. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Create a DOS boot floppy disk. Put all the files needed to update bios on it (usually the bios update program and the new bios). Run the program in DOS and it should load the new BIOS file.
     
  4. Michael Westen

    Michael Westen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    12,356
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    XP doesnt have a dos shell :squint:

    any more info? im taking it you mean a boot disk?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no shit sherlock. a dos boot floppy is a boot disk running dos. dos is the os, and a floppy is a type of disk.

    and XP does have a dos shell.... cmd.exe
     
  6. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    One way you can do it, in XP, insert a floopy disk, open my computer, RIGHT CLICK on 3 1/2" Floppy A:, click on format, click on option to create MS DOS Startup disk, then click on format.
     
  7. Michael Westen

    Michael Westen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    12,356
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    I see, im getting it, its just my only system so far on XP was a gateway, all ready to run, and very low maintainance, i havent had to mess with things really since windows 3.1 :o
     

Share This Page