ASRock K7S8XE+ Not Posting...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FreeSpace, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    ASRock K7S8XE+ Not Posting...*FIXED* CR2032 Battery a la mode!

    FIXED: CR2032 batteries work wonders.

    I just discovered that my old Duron has SERIOUS OCing potential. So, I decided to dig up my old mobo and hook everything up.

    Nothing worked. Here is what I tried:



    • Swapping CPU
    • Reseating Mobo
    • Putting Paper over the integrated risers
    • Clearing the CMOS
    • Clearing the CMOS, then removing the battery
    • Removing each part, one by one, including the IDE cables
    • Punching the case (No, I didn't do that :p ).
    • Swapping PSU's
    • Checking jumper configs (All clear!)
    So, what's the beef? I tried everything I knew, and nothing worked. It has a SiS 748 chipset, if that helps.

    I'm trying to run this in it:

    TNT2 OCed to 166/166
    Duron 1.8GHz
    PC3200 RAM
    10GB Maxtor HD
    40x Samsung CD-ROM

    Just a bunch of crap I have lying around. I don't want to spend $50 on a new mobo, what can I do to get this bastard working?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2005
  2. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    Well, does anyone here have a clue? It shouldn't be THAT hard...
     
  3. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you say nothing worked .... do you mean nothing happened whatsoever? Or the PSU's came on and no POST, or you got a POST but couldn't boot to the OS?

    EDIT: i just saw the title :o
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  4. SEPHROTH64

    SEPHROTH64 Guest

    are u getting any beeps?

    try resetting ram?
     
  5. skooter

    skooter Guest

    I have the same Mobo, worked great for a year and then all of a suddent it died just like yours. I tried EVERYTHING short of replacing the BIOS chip, swapped all hardware, PSU's, i just gave up and bought an ASUS. That was about 3 weeks ago and i still have not been able to figure it out. Everything powers up but no post beep or video.
     
  6. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    OH MY FUCKING GOD! That's scary as fuck! I assume you know that is an Asus value brand board...

    I'm gonna go look at that Chaintech nF2 U400 board that caught my eye.
     
  7. Dominion

    Dominion I believe you have my stapler.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    ASUS and Asrock are seperate companies.
     
  8. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    True, but ASRock is a subsidary. The boards are Asus designed and built.

    However, ASRock can lick my sack. I just got a Chaintech 7NIL1 with the nForce2 Ultra 400 chipset, and now I feel that Chaintech owns the budget board market.

    This thing is great...It's even better than my Gigabyte GA-7DPXDW-P dual CPU board.
     
  9. Dominion

    Dominion I believe you have my stapler.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    No trust me on this one, they are seperate companies. Just because ASUS makes pcb's for them doesn't make them a subsidary. ASUS also makes PCB's for HP and Sony systems usually designated with -la but those two companies are their own thing :p
     
  10. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    It's working :). I put in the CR2032 battery from my dual CPU board and it sprung back to life.
     

Share This Page