A&P Aspiring photographer stuck in a non-aspiring city

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by coughlin's law, Sep 3, 2008.

1. So going through various options of what I could do for a living, photographer came across my mind -- but the city I live in, really has nothing going for it... initially I wanted to do interior photography but that hasn't really gotten me anywhere...

There's not a big club scene here, if I wanted to do Turbodude style photos. There are a ton of wedding and portrait photographers, so it kind of limits what you can do...

I'm just a guy with a camera... :sadwavey:

2. Jcolman

Jcolman OT Supporter

You could move to a larger city with more possibilities and more photographers all fighting for the same piece of the pie or you could really try and carve out your own slice right where you are.

You say that interior photography is what you want to do but how hard have you tried to market yourself in this area? Are you skills / equipment up the challenge? It can take years to become "established" in an area. Don't be so quick to give up.

Being a large fish in a small pond is better than being a small fish in a large pond. You won't get eaten as quickly.

3. Tedrzz

Tedrzz New Member

The majority of photographers I've met travel far and wide (some of the kids I go to RIT with are from seattle and california) for photography. One of my photography professor does landscape work in Nova Scotia. Don't be afraid to pack up and leave. I lived in a small town in Michigan 2 weeks ago, now I live in Rochester, NY.

4. wizeguy4

wizeguy4 New Member

so there is a market for this. Now deal with competition and become better. If tehre are a ton, then there is shitboat of money being spent on shitty pictars. Take really good pictars at a fair price and keep yourself busy

5. ohknaks

ohknaks New Member

:wavey:

Good luck at the brick city.

<-- RIT Alum

6. Tedrzz

Tedrzz New Member

hi budday:wavey:

when did you graduate? what was your major?

7. ohknaks