SRS asking for a raise?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by quadrant6, Jun 1, 2007.

1. quadrant6

quadrant6 New Member

To start off, I work as an IT analyst for a publicly-traded company, we own over 80 companies nationwide.

From what I know, I am currently the person making the least amount of money in the whole IT department (there are about 12-13 of us total). So after hearing so many times from friends/ex-coworkers that I should be making much more than I'm currently making (39k/yr), I'm planning on asking the CIO of the company for a raise. A good friend of mine says I should ask for MUCH MORE over what I want to actually make, so in case of a bargain i will be ok with what the CIO negotiates. So I'm planning on asking for 50k/year.. Is this too much to ask for?

Just to back myself up, I'm a jack of all trades with my job, I'm consistently busy and the proof of this is our help desk software where I log everything I do throughout the day (thus showing proof of how much a raise I should get). Moreover I am never late, learn from my mistakes, and I'm pretty much tired of living off my credit card just to make ends meet (which happens all the time about a week before payday once a month). Any other advice I should take?

2. GregFarz78

GregFarz78 New Member

Thats a little over a 20% raise. Besides what your friends say have you looked around for other positions in the area to see what they pay? how long have you been there and when was your last raise? When you go in to talk to them have all your facts ready why they should be paying you more, give examples why you deserve it.

Most places don't want to give you a raise that large till they find out you're leaving of course :hs: A friend of mine works in IT he's moved around a few times and made a big jump in pay every time, thats the only way to do it sometimes.

3. quadrant6

quadrant6 New Member