SRS Ask her to marry me?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by obiwan, Dec 15, 2009.

1. obiwan

obiwan New Member

Hey guys. I'm a noob here and need some advice (this seemed like the best place to ask). I've been in a relationship with my girlfriend for more than a year now and we're far enough along in our relationship to where we talk about getting married openly. We both agree we're ready for it, but we both know there's no way we could afford the wedding we want for awhile. I want her to know how serious I am about this though, which is why I'm thinking about proposing.

I was considering asking without a ring since I can't afford one right now, but I feel like we'd both be kind of let down. Not so much because of the ring itself, but because the proposal didn't feel "complete." I'm wondering first off, would most of you girls out there be disappointed if your SO proposed without a ring? And second, is there anything else I need to do to make the proposal complete? Also, is it ok to propose a few years before you're actually able to get married or should you wait till you're able to set a date in stone?

I was thinking about doing it on a walk at the beach, on a picnic, or maybe at the restaurant we had our first real date? Do you think that's a good idea or is that really cliche? And as for WHEN, what do you think about doing it on New Year's? Valentine's Day? Our anniversary? Be totally honest...I'd rather know something is a good idea or bad idea before I do it rather than after! Thank you in advance.

2. 7960

7960 New Member

if you get engaged but set a wedding date more than a year away from when you give her the ring, you don't really want to get married.

wait....she's not going anywhere.