As a web developer, do you feel I should learn Python?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Crath, Oct 12, 2009.

1. Crath

Crath New Member

I'm a self taught php/mysql/js developer already making a decent amount of money, but things are starting to even out a bit in the server-side language relm, with php and asp, and now things like ruby on rails and django.

Out of each of the other options, I would go with learning python, and then django, but do you feel it would be benificial to me? I always looked at it as, the time spent learning an entirely new language could be spent fine-tuning my current knowledge and skills. I have been dealing with the code-igniter framework for php, which is a loose MVC framework and love it.

Just getting some opinions on the matter... thanks

2. ge0

ge0 New Member

If you love MVC, you should be able to pick up ruby on rails then. Learn it, it will be worth it to have.

Also, about the fine tuner part, the concepts you apply to other languages learning them can be applied to the languages you already know..

3. 7960

7960 New Member

I have no idea about python, but I have a question

If you don't learn python, are you actually going to spend the time fine-tuning your current knowledge and skills?

I just had this conversation yesterday. Too often I hear people say "I'm not going to do <that>, because it's time away from <this>" but then when you look back, they ended not doing *EITHER*.

To me, learning something new is a challenge so I usually dive in and get it done. But most of the time I see "fine-tuning my current knowledge and skills" as a chore, and put it off. So again, you have to ask yourself, if you don't learn python, are you actually going to spend the time fine-tuning your current knowledge and skills?

4. Crath

Crath New Member

Never learning ruby on rails... its fanboys are annoying as fuck