GUN as a first time gun owner, what stuff do I need to buy for the shooting range

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by t1h, Sep 26, 2006.

1. t1h

t1h Guest

I joined my local shooting range. Basically its several 25-300 yard fields with dirtwork on all sides of each range and they have a lounge with bathrooms and tables. They provide a few targets (some rails at 50-100 yards to put bottles on) and a gong at 100 yards. they want you to build your own target stands out of wood/pvc/etc and provide your on targets really. But I could still go there and shoot the gong and water bottles.

So my question is, because i'm a total gun noob, what sort of stuff will I need to shoot bottles, other then the water bottles obviously? I have an M1 Garand that will be here tomorrow (bought used for $600, was a service grade from CMP in 2001, guy said it shoots fine). So what do I need? Obviously I'll need to go to walmart and buy some .30-06 150 grain full metal jacket cartridges, a cleaning kit, gun oil, and hearing protection. anything else?

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2006
  2. striker754

striker754 Chillin

glasses

3. krott5333

krott5333 Guest

yeah if you dont wear glasses, get some shooting glasses..

also, if you want to shoot it off a rest, maybe a pillow or something to set the gun on. Just depends what you want to do.

Have fun :wavey:

4. Y2kAccord

Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

check your range rules on ammo, some around here dont allow FMJ outdoors

5. t1h

t1h Guest

already did, my range has no problem with it

6. Powderburn

Powderburn New Member

get yourself a set of low-profile hearing protection like those radian earbuds that are held in place by the plastic band....i dunno where you live, but i live in florida where its hot as hell outdoors, and wearing big bulky earmuffs really make you sweat and get in the way of a good cheekweld on a rifle...