argggg someone point me in the right directions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sirius, Sep 4, 2007.

1. Sirius

Sirius OT Supporter

Hey guys, i've been using a receiver for some time now, and had it on 2 channel mode in my room for a while. I got some bookshelf speakers from a friend, and put up the center one and it worked fine.
    I finally mounted the back two, but I cant seem to get audio through either of them. I'm playing wires and settings and shit and I cant get my head around it all. I don't know which outputs support 5.1 or if the audio in is all in the right order. Blah.

What I need is to learn what to look for and where to ask the specific questions. YES I'm a noob at this, YES i've got no AV, and NO i don't have pictures yet. :greddy:

Where can I go to find this? I can't find the instruction manual (pioneer VSX-0514 reciever) or find one online. Sigh, I was excited for 5 channel sound.

2. Kieffer87

Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

3. Sirius

Sirius OT Supporter

yeah, I misread the number. Ugh.

Anyways, i've got my TV audio output running to my receiver, and my dvd/vhs/game cube running to the TV. I've got the TV plugged into the slot that is called the "5.1 Channel" It seems like the two rear channels are not "activated" and arent putting out audio. I can hear fuzz if I turn it up loud enough, but not actual audio. I didn't feel like running all my electronics through the receiver, so I just did it through the TV. Thats probably my whole problem. Maybe it has something to do with th TV being plugged into the 5.1 channel and using the quick set-up and entering 5.0 channels. (no sub)

I don't know what the fuck i'm doing. I figured it was plug/play for the most part. I'll take a look at this manual, thanks for the link.

4. Sirius

Sirius OT Supporter