Are there any plans for building a box online?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by STA, Nov 12, 2002.

1. STA

STA Guest

I recently got some new Cerwin-vega vega series subs and I am going to make a box for them. I am a noob but I will get help from my sis' bf who is very handy with tools.

right click, save as This is a pdf file of the subs specs. and installation info.

Any help or info. would be apprecciated. Thanks in advance

2. STA

STA Guest

Oh yeah. I have a somewhat big trunk. 92 Ford Thunderbird. And they will be getting close to 400 W rms each.

3. unrealii

unrealii professor of plant biology

Pretty much waht I did, I converted the cubic feet into cubic inches. I started making random dimensions until I got close to the specified number of cubic inches i needed. Then from there I made the box. I went for a sealed box. If you are going ported, I dont know anything about those. First you need to look at those charts and specs and decide which box you want to enclose your speakers with. There is a thread in this forum which has a few pointers on how to make a box. I'm too lazy to dig it up :(

4. 04

04 Guest

How much space do you have? Do you want a vented or sealed enclosure? A bandpass maybe? What kind of music do you listen to and how loud?

5. flynfrog

flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

my guess is he wants a sealed box since it will be the simplest to make

6. STA

STA Guest

Well I'd like to make it simple, but they suggest the box be a bass reflex (ported). They also suggest around 2.25 cu. ft. per sub with a 10.75" long 4" dia. port for each. Now they say to have the port play into the listening area. Do I pu the port and speakers facing the back of the seat or speakers facing back with the ports toward the seat?

And 042801, I listen to a lot of rap and some other stuff. I have an area 14" high, 22" deep", 36" wide in my trunk for the box. The rest of the room will be for amp racks.

7. 04

04 Guest