WEB Are different websites on different ip's on the same server?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by macrochap, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. macrochap

    macrochap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im moving all my sites to a new server. I see that some of my sites I can see them on the NEW server.
    and some of them Im still seeing the old copy on the old server.

    is this possible? I thought all the sites would be on the same ip
     
  2. brds

    brds OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    17,647
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Atlanta
    They might be on the same physical rack, but in order to have more than 1 IP, you'd have to have more than one cat5/6 cable going into it... meaning they'd be separate computers stored in the same case.
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Untrue. You can bind multiple IP's to 1 server. Create virtual interfaces to do so.
     
  4. Deviance

    Deviance Can't you smell that smell? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,989
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain High
    And you can definitely have more than 1 ip on a single port.

    One of my dedicated servers has 6 ip's on it, on 1 port.

    if your websites are still going to the old servers, you probably need to change your DNS to point at the new ip(s).
     
  5. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    I love this forum. :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  6. brds

    brds OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    17,647
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I should prolly just stick to what i know... completely forgot about VI's and the like.
     
  7. PocoDiablo

    PocoDiablo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    And if you did, keep in mind that sometimes it takes upwards of 24-48 hours for the changes to go through. This isn't very likely, though, with changes to the DNS many years ago. If you are still seeing the old site, flush your DNS or reboot.
     
  8. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    ipconfig /flushdns
     

Share This Page