Are dell desktops upgradeable and over clockable?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Achance007, Oct 19, 2003.

  1. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,135
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I've heard dell uses some proprietary parts that can't really be upgraded. And i'm just wondering what they are. In a couple of years if I want to upgrade the processor or mobo would i be able to? Also can you over clock the processor or does dell put some kind of limiter on it? Thanks
    I was looking at getting the Dell xps with the intel 3.0 ghz processor
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    upgradable, usually, overclockable, not likely.
    they customize the bios to remove stuff like that.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I've heard they don't use ATX form factor mobos and cases so you can't put a new mobo in the case or put the mobo in a different case. Not sure though.
     
  4. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    They use some fucked up non-ATX connection between PSU and motherboard so that even if you could fit a standard power supply in there, you'd have to buy a new mother board as well.... And I don't know if that would fit either. Their BIOS is a joke, no overclocking will be done through that.
     
  5. Mike_the_Tank

    Mike_the_Tank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton
    I suggest getting a custom "no-name" sytem. It will be cheaper and easier to upgrade.

    Plus you can get the cheaper p4 2.4c and overclock it to 3ghz.
     
  6. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I agree with the newbie
     
  7. Igneous

    Igneous \\ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The Empire State
    You cannot overclock a dell computer because the motherboard doesn't allow you to change the FSB or the Multi on the cpu or the voltage and tons of other shit essential to overclocking. If you want to overclock get yourself another mobo to start. Then you can get better ram (runs @ higher speeds @ fast timings) etc, better cooling of course is a no brainer.
     
  8. vudoodoodoo

    vudoodoodoo Guest

    mATX mobo maybe?
     
  9. vudoodoodoo

    vudoodoodoo Guest

    Basically build your own computer. :o
     
  10. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,135
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I was thinking of getting a 3ghz processor and overclocking that, anybody know how much higher I can take it? or is not worth paying extra to get the 3.0 and just get a 2.8
     

Share This Page