GUN AR parts kit V. Blackthrone

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Sgt Pepper, Apr 23, 2009.

?

Buy from Blackthorne?

1. Yes, thier stuff is pretty good.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No, their stuff is shit.

44.4%
  3. Who's Blackthorne?

55.6%
  1. Sgt Pepper

Sgt Pepper New Member

Here's the story of my AR build so far. Hopefully WMD can help me out.

I bought a DPMS stripped lower at a gun show in January(overpaid :wtc:).

I then wanted to get a parts kit to complete the build and a friend found Blackthorne(Link).

Ordered a parts kit from them on 1/5/09 and it has yet to be shipped. I emailed them a few weeks ago and they said that they were still back ordered on bold carriers and I could cancel at any time.

I have since looked further into them and it sounds like there pedaling shit. So I'm thinking of canceling and ordering with someone else. I'm a freshman in college so I don't have a lot of money(why I chose Blackthorne originally).

I've found http://www.model1sales.com and they look pretty cheap. What I'm looking for is an A3 16" carbine with a heavy barrel.

I'm also not opposed to building my own upper. I just don't have a torque wrench which would be about $100 on top of the rifle.

Am I SOL on Blackthorne and if so where should I go?

Also is a relatively cheap AR even possible without sacrificing quality?

Thanks! :wavey:

2. HorseDick

HorseDick Active Member

I've heard nothing but terrible things about Blackthorne kits. Stick with JT, Del-Ton, and Model 1

3. I have never heard anything positive about them. Apparently it's the same company as Hesse and Vulcan and they just keep changing their name to try and escape their awful reputation.

4. Soybomb

Soybomb New Member

This poll is like asking: "Hay guys, what have you heard about this AIDS stuff, should I get some?"