Apple's Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tenplanescrashing, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has/does anyone use this? Im considering getting the 10-client version so I can connect to my mom's and brother's laptops when they need help with something since they are 3 hours away. Any suggestions or recommendations?
     
  2. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    post how it goes, my best friend recently got a powerbook, and he went off to boarding school. He IMs me atleast once a week with a new question.
     
  3. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    I have the ability to use it but not the oppurtunity.

    I work afternoons / evenings and all the ibooks are not in use than. Have to do everything on-site at the keyboard.
     
  4. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    would it work between ours? she is 250 miles away and on a completely different network...is that a problem?
     
  5. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Not a problem really, just requires some additional router setup.

    Have you ever used vnc?
     
  6. strange_wu

    strange_wu Large Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I use it all the time. Compared to Windows remote desktop it's pretty much amazing, expensive though.
     
  7. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,910
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    WA
    I've had it in my organization since 10.2, it owns for enterprise-level management. I've joked at times that it's like Microsoft Systems Management Server (SMS), but much simpler, and not as much of a train wreck. :rofl:

    If they're both behind protected networks, you may want to work with their routers and/or network admins to allow incoming traffic on the ARD ports (TCP/UDP 3283 and 5900).
     
  8. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    its just mine and my mom's "network"
     

Share This Page