apples are better computers

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jimmy Jockstrap, Jan 13, 2007.

1. Ive heard microsoft is actually crap and apple is better but has a smaller share of the market. Im a computer noob and I understand this is a very general statement. Also how does linux fit in with all this?

2. piratepenguin

piratepenguin New Member

Download Ubuntu for free at ubuntu.com, or get a CD shipped out to you, again for free, and then decide where GNU/Linux fits in with it all. It'll work on all PCs, including Macs - whereas Apple's Mac OS X is restricted to running on Apple PCs, so you'd need to buy a new computer for it.

"microsoft is actually crap" I wouldn't disagree. Indeed, one of the main reasons people have trouble with Windows is the insane amount of malware developed for it, which makes it's way into millions of PCs, but this still just does not happen on GNU/Linux or OS X. Whoever's fault it is, I'm more surprised when non-Windows OSes give more bother than Windows than the other way around. If you don't rely on Windows-only software or hardware (in which case, you could complain to the relevant manufacturers), you probably won't look back. It also helps when you can handle the fact that GNU/Linux and OS X ARE NOT WINDOWS, and don't complain about the simple differences between them. (Most people who complain about GNU/Linux expect it to do everything the same as Windows, I find)

Ubuntu can very easily be installed such that you will still be able to use Windows if you desire - you'll be asked which you'd like to boot when you turn the computer on. Just pay attention at install time.

If you boot up the Ubuntu CD too, you can try it out before you install it (it will naturally be slower than if it was installed to the harddrive though).