apple screen sharing really is not all that great

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, May 13, 2008.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    if you compare it to microsoft's remote desktop, the differences are glaring.

    screen sharing is usually blurry and laggy as hell. also, check out how much resources it uses up in your istatpro widget, sometimes it was hitting 80% processor usage
    adjustment for showing detail/making it faster doesn't seem to make a difference. could this be because i'm connecting on a wireless G connection?
    i know that remote desktop and screen sharing are similar but not the same, just wish that it wasn't so laggy and blurry
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    probably your connection, mines clear and doesn't lag.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    plugged it into my router, gigabit over cat 6. still the same, oh well
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  5. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    what are the computers youre using?
     
  6. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works fine with a good connection. My friend is in college, and it worked great with her network at school. She then went home and was on a neighbor's wireless, and it was laggy.
     
  7. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    I have a crappy 10mb connection on my laptop and it works great. :dunno:
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if a 10mbps connection is considered "crappy" then apple is way out of their league on this. TS/RDC works well over 256kbps connections, and even less.
     
  9. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    I consider it crappy bacause file transfers take forver across my network, let alone a Time Machine backup....:run:
     
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    well, maybe thats the problem. it's a connection between a c2d 2ghz macbook and a c2d 2.2ghz hackintosh

    perhaps the hackitosh is the culprit


    you can't install microsoft's remote desktop onto a mac can you? i know you can install the program to connect with, but i think the other part is built into the microsoft OS

    its no big deal that its laggy, its probably just because i'm using hacked software. i shouldn't complain
     
  11. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    works fine for me :dunno: no lag issues
     
  12. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    correct. and I agree that RDP is much better, but the apple one works fine for me.

    I dont know why the hackintosh would be a problem :dunno:
     
  13. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Why not use VNC? I much prefer it over RDC.
     

Share This Page