A&P Aperture or Lightroom?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Labster, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    I have Aperture 2 just curious if I should get Lightroom. Just got my Xsi and I'm looking at doing some post production when I finally start taking pics. What do you guys recommend.
     
  2. SkiMax

    SkiMax OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    26,737
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Chicago
    just use whatever is comfortable?

    I use lightroom but that is just what I started with
     
  3. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,398
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Houston
    You can't change your aperture in Lightroom... you can only do that in your camera :mamoru:
     
  4. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    smart ass :gtfo:
     
  5. Idyfohu

    Idyfohu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    I love LR2, but haven't given Aperture much of a chance. Aperture 3 came out and it has some awesome features...but I'm sticking with what I know, but it integrates great with CS4.
     
  6. Idyfohu

    Idyfohu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    If you're familiar with Aperture, but I'm assuming you're not since you're new to the DSLR world, I'd stick with that and upgrade to Aperture 3. Read the comparisons and crap out there, there's a bunch of them.
     
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    wait and buy LR3
     
  8. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    buy :nono:
     
  9. Lightroom is a god send... LR has so many better options, it's easy, and I love using it. It has saved a lot of photos for me.
     
  10. bobasaur

    bobasaur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taipei
    :rofl:
     
  11. Idyfohu

    Idyfohu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Just curious...have you used Aperture 3?
     
  12. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    I have used lightroom but I hated that it "converts" your pictures coloring to its own format and also messes with exposures if you shoot raw. I shoot with Nikon and I love their Capture NX2 program, but that's only for Nikons.
     
  13. Smahatma

    Smahatma Bitch-Kumar OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Gullyfornia
    lightroom 3 beta 2 is available for download on the adobe site

    this version enables both luma and chroma noise reduction
     
  14. goten2000

    goten2000 Tupac's Son

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,704
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    just curious, if you have aperture 2 already, why would you need LR? do you not like aperture?
     
  15. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using Aperture for awhile, still on version 2 since I know some that have gone to 3 and has been buggy for them, so I'll let it work itself out for a bit before I upgrade.

    But I really like it. I'd say LR is pretty similar, they have similar features and work similarly. I like the layout and gui of Aperture better, but they work about the same. If you're used to Aperture, stick with it.

    Also, if you've been using Aperture libraries, while it can be done, it might be pretty time consuming and a pain to convert over to LRs filing system.
     

Share This Page