SRS Apathy and School

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Carrots, May 12, 2006.

1. Carrots

Carrots New Member

Hey there.

I'm currently a student at a really nice American private prep school. The academics are actually challenging, we have small classes, pretty campus, plenty of funding, and the teachers are (for the most part) excellent. The work load that the average student has is usually compared to medium to lightish load that a student would take at a university. I know how lucky I am.

But I haven't been doing my homework recently. I've always been a procrastinator, and I've gotten behind on my work in the past but not this far. I'm a couple assignments behind in math, I skipped a good chunk of the last book I read for english, I'm about a month behind on my Chem homework, and I have a 15 page history paper due Tuesday that I've barely started, and I've only read a few of the twelve journal articles on which it's supposed to be based. If I were procrastinating as usual, I'd be worrying myself sick about everything I have to turn in soon, but I'm not. The problem is I just don't care about it anymore. English? Meh. Science? *shrug* I've always been that total nerd who reads textbooks for fun and thinks everything boring is interesting. But I don't think anything I'm learning interesting anymore, so I don't care about my homework, so I don't do it.

This is a problem. I need to finish high school. In order to finish high school, I need to pass my classes.

To do that, I need to either
    a) Figure out how to do hours of hard work I don't give a damn about on a daily basis
    or
    b) Care.

Any advice?
    Please and thank you. :)

2. Legend Zero

Legend Zero OT Supporter