Anything to be aware of when installing XP over Vista?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Paulie Walnuts, Feb 6, 2008.

1. Paulie Walnuts

Paulie Walnuts Im an agent of chaos

Im sick of Vista and I want to wipe out the drive and install XP. Somone at work was telling me that its going to be next to impossible for some reason.

Any truth in this and any tips you have?

2. cmsurfer

cmsurfer ºllllllº

Well, what kind of machine do you have? Was Vista pre-loaded?

For some reason, just about every thread I see about people going back to XP from Vista have trouble finding drivers. Try and find the XP drivers for all of your hardware before you format.

What exactly don't you like about it?

3. Doomsday

Doomsday XXX

nah, it's just like a clean install.
    as what cmsurfer said, most people just encounter driver problems

4. trouphaz

trouphaz New Member

some people at work bought these Sony laptops that were built for Vista and found that finding XP drivers was next to impossible. i am amazed at how stupid a company would be to commit themselves to Vista when it is obviously not very successful in the market. i could see doing that after it takes hold, but man that is such bad planning on their part.

5. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

vista is successful in the market. It simply requires current-gen hardware to work well.

6. Hate Crime

Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

Exactly, Sony could care less(responding to the post above yours) if you are trying to install old fucking software. Vista works fine on it's laptop, there is no need for them to provide you XP drivers.

7. Paulie Walnuts

Yes it came with Vista pre-loaded.