Anything I'm missing? v. new computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jdw, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    Case - Coolermaster
    PSU - 750W
    Ram - 2GB
    Processor - Q6600
    HDD x2 - 80GB and 500GB
    Mother Board - Abit
    DVD Burner - Samsung
    Video Card - probably won't make up my mind until I place the order
    Tube of Arctic Silver
    Going to find another 120mm fan for my case as long as I'm ordering


    Suppose I'll need SATA cables for the HDDs and DVD drive... Anything particular that's better than the next?
    EDIT: derrr - just realized there are 4 of them in with the Motherboard....


    Anything else I should remember to order? Going to place it tomorrow night and hopefully have it for weekend and get this put together.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2008
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mouse? Keyboard? Screen?
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Depending on the Abit board, it's going to be more than 4 cables, for sure.

    What are your computing needs? Do you do any video/audio editing/rendering?
    If not, then skip the Q6600 and get the E8400.

    What brand is the psu you're looking at?
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    dump the arctic silver for the arctic cooling mx-2. It's knocking a couple of °c off a system compared to AS5.
    If you're an overclocker, it might be better to look at the Q6700 over the Q6600 because of the better stepping the Q6700's are guaranteed to have over the Q6600. you might get a G0 6600 or it could be a B3. The B3 will hinder your overclocking, but not to any huge extent. You can hit 3.2GHz on air cooling with a Q6600 B3, 3.4 and up is very doable with the G0 stepping.
     
  5. Javi

    Javi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    37,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    heatsink
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    . + fan
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    His CPU will come with a heatsink and fan, if he buys a retail unit. It won't be the best heatsink ever, but unless he's gonna work the machine really hard, it won't matter much.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    stock HSF cools well, actually. it's just loud as fuck. I'm debating whether to replace mine this year, or not. During winter it's quiet because the ambient temp in my office is low (I hardly ever use the heater). But during the Summer it's 110+ outside and even with AC on max and a $400 power bill it's still mid 80's inside... And my HSF will be whining something fierce.
     
  9. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    have all that...
     
  10. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND

    Q6600 has been sitting on my dresser for a 10 days now - picked it up from Frys for $189. It is the G0 version. (I actually didn't realize the G0 would be stable over 3.2 - interesting - guess we'll see what happens). I'll stick with the included heatsink temporarily and see how it does.

    Picking up the case, PSU, and Motherboard after work from UPS.


    I'd just like to make sure I have everything to put the tower together so I can get it fired up this weekend. First build, hate to forget something stupid (and end up spending 4x as much getting it at Best Buy or something)
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    some heatsinks, specially the popular large ones, are a pain in the ass to install.

    if you want one, i suggest you get one now and install as you build the pc.
    getting one later might need removing everything out of the case, mobo included, which is a pain in the ass to do.

    looks complete.

    other things I can think off:
    expansion cards?
    speakers?
    media card reader?
    maybe a floppy just in case you need to install drivers or flash the bios?
    (note: bios flashing can also be done via USB flash drives depending on the mobo.)
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then it sounds like you've got everything.
     
  13. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    I guess I'll cross that bridge when I get there. It's not unlikely that it'll be a while before I even think about overclocking it. Or maybe I'll look at 'upgrades' once rebates come back (will have close to $200 if I remember the figures correctly). I'd like to keep my 'unnecessary' out-of-pocket down as I'm getting close to running out of money in this account... :hs:

    Don't know of any expansion cards I want/need to get started.

    Going to leave out the media card reader for now. I was looking last night and I think the majority of that will be done on my laptop anyway (which doesn't have a slot for CF cards but most of my card reading is done outside of my apartment with the camera anyway).

    I've got speakers I'll use for now. I might look into running cable to my stereo - or look at a new receiver system in the future - or find some on sale somewhere.

    If I need a floppy I'm sure I can steal one from a neighbor. Maybe I'll look for shits and giggles...




    On a side note - the parts pile got a little bit larger.
     
  14. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    it is easy for most people to hit 3.4-3.6ghz with a G0 q6600 in most cases

    i do know somebody personally that has a q6700 proc that isn't stable over stock speeds. it is rare for that situation, but it does happen.
     
  15. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Assuming you already have the OS to load on it....
     
  16. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND

    Yep..

    I ended up holding off temporarily. Going to see what kind of deals XFX runs in May for video cards and hope it's better than last month. Wasn't going to get it by weekend anyway...
     

Share This Page