Anyone want to guess how much memory Norton AV 06 takes?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mdaniel, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    [around 100MB it appears]

    Jesus I knew it was bad but that's crazy. And this was on an XP machine with 256MB. Its amazing what a difference adding 256MB and replacing Norton with AVG can do. Commit charge dropped from around 280-300MB to 180MB or so by ditching Norton. After installing AVG it was around 200MB. Of course now it doesn't sit at an unusable, unresponsive desktop for 5 minutes on bootup anymore. Thanks Norton!
     
  2. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    I switched to AVG after I had problems with getting the pirated norton 2006 version to work.
    Does it autoscan newly downloaded files?I know with norton, even if you execute an infected file, it will still catch it before it does any damage.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, AVG protects in real-time.

    It's far more effective than Norton, as well.
     
  4. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    I liked all the extra stuff that came with System works. All the utils and shit. Can I get those without anti-virus (I dont want norton running unless I tell it to)
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ugh. It's the "extras" in system-works that cause the most damage :rolleyes:
     
  6. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    haha no shit. I've "fixed" many a computer simply by removing that crap. Anything from no internet to not booting up to apps not running.
     
  7. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    speak english much?
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I use Norton, and it has realtime protection, so I'm not sure
    what you mean by that.

    Also, I've tried avg, and it was the slowest scanning software I've ran across. Norton scans are pretty speedy.
    I have to wonder what Norton could have changed that would require
    that much memory. Does that even sound possible to anybody?
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Uh... its perfectly understandable :ugh:
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    "speedy" is not something I'd use to describe Norton.

    Most people complain about how SLOW it is.
     
  11. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Toronto
    Total system scan on AVG took 2x as long as it did on Norton. 40 mins on norton.... 1.5 hours on AVG. But the cpu/mem load is less, go figure.
     

Share This Page