Anyone used Bootcamp + Parallels with Vista?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Tvan, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I installed Vista Ultimate OEM with Boot Camp before installing Parallels. When I try to use that Boot Camp partition with Parallels, it fails to boot and stops booting leaving me at a command line prompt. I hit Escape to go back to the grub loader and select Vista, and it still fails to boot properly. :wtc:
     
  2. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never tried. I had enough problems using my xp partition with parallels. I got conflicts with my eSATA card.

    And btw, in regards to that problem you were having with aero, make sure you install the drivers from the driver CD that boot camp assistant wanted you to burn.
     
  3. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    why do you use grub? shouldnt be needed with parallels? :dunno:
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i think they added vista support with version 3 of parallels...not sure how well it worked before that.
     
  5. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    i boot camped vista, what a waste of time

    i deleted that partition in less than 24 hours
     
  6. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    i boot camped XP with Parallels.. and that worked fine.
     
  7. asshole

    asshole dont eat yellow snow! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    everywhere..everyone has an asshole
    whats the best to run with games? Bootcamp or parallels?
     
  8. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    boot camp, its running the os natively versus running it through a virtual machine
     
  9. asshole

    asshole dont eat yellow snow! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    everywhere..everyone has an asshole

    thats what i thought ive just never used parallels before
     
  10. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yea, I installed a copy of Parallels 3 and it's still not working. Parallels for some reason just keeps failing to boot Vista properly. When I get back home from vacation I'll probably scrap Vista for XP.


    And, I got Aero working. I had installed the drivers before making this thread but hadn't restarted my computer since. After restarting, Aero worked fine.
     

Share This Page