Anyone use Terminal Services?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 5Gen_Prelude, Feb 14, 2007.

  1. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    So I decided that instead of running our ERP over the WAN which eats up tonnes of bandwidth, we'd run it on a TS server box. Works great but I just can't seem to easily deploy this to users. In AD, I can set the environment to start a program, but then I have to do this on a per individual basis and when I copy users, it doesn't copy the environment tab. If I had to change the app that starts up for any reason, I would have to change a bazillion tabs (or use dsquery, dsmod I suppose). So that doesn't really do what I want. I can set the program to run on the TS server so that it runs regardless of that setting, but then it also runs when an admin logs in. Isn't there a middle ground?
     
  2. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Cant you set it via GP?
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    This thread contains far too many acronyms.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I don't think so - I can poke around again but most of the TS GPs have to do with what they can and can't do in a remote session.
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should EP the TS and that will rock the POS while the DB hits the WS and the KP. 10-4?
     
  6. igo4bmx

    igo4bmx WHAT WHAT WHAT THE FU OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly, PA
    citrix?
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Roger Wilco.

    :rofl:
     
  8. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Personally, I prefer ventrilo to TeamSpeak and Roger Wilco

    *rimshot*
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Sigh - doesn't look like it's possible. Thanks for bumping the thread at least :fawk:
     
  10. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    $0 1 d3(1D3D 7|-|@ 1|\|5734D 0Ph rU|\||\|1|\|9 0UR 3RP 0\/3R 7|-|3 \/\/4|\| \/\/|-|1(|-| 3475 UP 70|\||\|35 0Ph b4|\|D\/\/1D7|-|, \/\/3'D rU|\| 17 0|\| 4 7$ 53R\/3R b0><0R. \/\/0R|<5 9R3@ bU7 1 jU57 (4|\|'7 533/\/\ 70 3451L'/ d3PL0'/ 7|-|15 70 U53R5. 1|\| 4D, 1 (4|\| 537 7|-|3 3|\|\/1R0|\|/\/\3|\|7 70 574R7 4 pR09R4/\/\, bU7 7|-|3|\| 1 |-|4\/3 70 d0 7|-|15 0|\| 4 p3R 1|\|D1\/1DU4L b4515 4|\|D \/\/|-|3|\| 1 (0P'/ U53R5, 17 d035|\|'7 (0P'/ 7|-|3 3|\|\/1R0|\|/\/\3|\|7 74B. 1Ph 1 |-|4D 70 (|-|4|\|93 7|-|3 4PP 7|-|@ 574R75 UP Ph0R 4|\|'/ r3450|\|, 1 \/\/0ULD |-|4\/3 70 (|-|4|\|93 4 b4Z1LL10|\| 74B5 (0R U53 d5QU3R'/, d5/\/\0D 1 5UPP053). $0 7|-|@ d035|\|'7 r34LL'/ d0 \/\/|-|@ 1 \/\/4|\|7. 1 (4|\| 537 7|-|3 pR09R4/\/\ 70 rU|\| 0|\| 7|-|3 7$ 53R\/3R 50 7|-|@ 17 rU|\|5 r394RDL355 0Ph 7|-|@ 53771|\|9, bU7 7|-|3|\| 17 4L50 rU|\|5 \/\/|-|3|\| 4|\| 4D/\/\1|\| L095 1|\|. 15|\|'7 7|-|3R3 4 /\/\1DDL3 9R0U|\|D?
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    And the point of translating the original post into l337 was what?
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    can't this more easily be done by changing the shell, or using a startup batch script? GP should be able to at least take care of a startup batch... Keep it on a network drive and then modifying one file will take effect for all users next time they login?
     
  13. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    To just go ahead and obfuscate it as much as possible.
     
  14. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Possibly - but from what I've read so far there isn't a means to do this. The nice thing about setting in the environment is that once you set it, they can't do ANYTHING else other than run that program (unless they C-A-E to get to the task manager and that can be gp'd out). So yeah, if I wanted just a program to run from within the desktop, it wouldn't be hard to do that with a batch script. DSMod/query is probably the easiest way to set it the more I think about it.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    GP still gives you some control over what can(t) be done. And it's C-S-E, not C-A-E. ;)

    There's a 3rd party solution that does exactly what you want, but it's name has slipped my mind, at the moment :(
     
  16. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    GP is nice, but if you've got a good buddy then nothing beats DP.
     
  17. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Huh? No idea what C-S-E does - seems like it's the same as Shift-End.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    this is wrong on so many levels :rofl:
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Ctrl+Shift+Esc brings up the task manager ;)
     
  20. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Not on any of my rigs. It's all C-A-E on remote sessions.
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    works for me :shrugs:
     
  22. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    What can I say - mine's documented - yours isn't :p
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    C-S-E is documented, methinks.
     
  24. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Is it THAT hard to admit you're wrong? I mean come on. Are you really trying to say that YOUR rigs respond differently to every other rig out there? I mean - really?
     
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon

Share This Page