ANyone use Linux

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Claydus, Aug 27, 2003.

  1. Claydus

    Claydus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    8,783
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    I am having trouble using the browser in Suse 8.2. I don't have a proxy but I have automatic config script but i don't know where to put that at in linux. Everything else i have set as DHCP, PPPOE, and etc. Help?
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    What browser are you using?
     
  3. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    on it right now..

    Working pretty good. I have decided to try to make an effort and use it a lot more than Windows.. We'll see how that goes. I am using RedHat 9.0
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Heh, after using Linux for a while, you'll wonder why you ever used Windows. I can't stand using Windows anymore (well, now at least... I never really used Windows actually). It makes me want to kill something.
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    are you sure it's your browser? can you ping yahoo.com or any host? maybe your internet connection isn't set up correctly.
     
  6. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    The only advantage I like about Windows is drivers, so easy for drivers.
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :dunno: I've never really run into problems on Linux... In fact, I'm the only one in the house (1 Linux, 2 Mac OSX, 1 MacOS 9, 1 Windows) that can scan from our HP OfficeJet over the network (something HP claims is impossible :big grin:).
     
  8. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Well, like my laptop has some other drivers than the ones in the kernel that you are supposed to load for the PCMCIA slot, which if I use locks up my keyboard completely(not even a response from ctrl-alt-backspace). GAIM came with the distro and I ended up finding a MSN Messenger. oh yeah, and compiling things from the terminal still confuses me, I completely follow the directions to the letter and it tells me I am doing shit wrong.

    EDIT: How in the hell did you get that Officejet to do that?
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2003
  9. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Redhat is cool. My next project is to set up a 200+gb jukebox (file server) so i can back up all my computers and crap.
     
  10. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    That's cool. I am looking to make a streaming video and music server so I can watch some things along with listen to some music from work.

    I got to find a good program that will do that. I was looking at the real player/server thing..

    Anybody have ideas?
     
  11. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hm, yea the PCMCIA problem I can understand, I think the laptop end of things are a little less developed thusfar. Anyway, I use AYTTM (formerly Everybuddy) for AIM/MSN/ICQ/Yahoo, it's pretty good. Compiling is just something you have to get used to, generally you just run the configure script, then do make and make install. Once you've done it enough times, it's pretty easy.

    As for the OfficeJet, some guy who works at HP developed drivers for it (http://hpoj.sourceforge.net)... Pretty cool, too bad HP is too fucking lazy to implement what's always been written ;)
     
  12. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My problem is that sometimes when I untar something and get in it's dir as root, then type ./configure it tells me command not found. And I really can't get xine to install, I ./configure, make, make install for the xine-lib then whenever I ./configure the xine-ui it tells me I haven't installed the xine-lib yet. any clue?
     
  13. dexedrine

    dexedrine Guest

    PCMCIA isn't too bad anymore with a newer kernel. You just need to make sure that there are drivers for it either built in or downloadable.

    Actually, I'm posting from my Archlinux laptop. w00t.
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hm, I think I had trouble compiling xine originally too... It's a library problem I think, write into the mailing lists (or browse the archives), they tend to be very good.

    As for the ./configure not working, it could be a permissions problem... Check that the configure script is executable by your use (ls -l will display the neccessary information). If that doesn't solve it, once again check the mailing list ;)
     

Share This Page