Anyone use iPhoto?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by verbal, Jan 28, 2008.

1. verbal

verbal Active Member

I'm just getting into using iPhoto for my best of the best pictures. I'm adding keywords for easy searching, but I'm starting to drive myself crazy trying to find a good keyword system for myself.

Anyone else use iPhoto and keywords? What 'practices' do you use when keywording your photos? I have a few specific questions to get a better idea of how to do things, but I wanna see if we have some serious iPhoto users in the Mac crew.

2. xenon supra

xenon supra OT Supporter

Adobe Lightroom

keywords suck anyway you look at it, they are time consuming.
    I just organize by date and album title.

3. mojito

mojito New Member

Lightroom is :bowdown:

don't know what I did before it. aperture is :greddy:

4. B7R

B7R New NASCAR Fan

Due to this thread I decided to give lightroom a go. I like.

5. mojito

mojito New Member

read the sticky in A&P

6. 3DimesDown

3DimesDown New Member

7. 98dirtybird

98dirtybird OT Supporter

The only apple product i use is iPhight

8. verbal

verbal Active Member

Why do they suck? If you have a ton of photos, how the hell do you find what you're looking for?

Just played with Lightroom. Seems nice, but extra busy. It would suck entering metadata tags for every photo. Is there any way to import an existing iPhoto library into Lightroom?

iPhoto seems basic, but it does what I need it to. And iPhoto's slideshows are a LOT nicer than Lightrooms. BUT it seems like printing and web gallery making is a lot better in Lightroom.

Now I'm totally torn on which to use. I'm going to watch the videos on Adobe's site and hopefully that will help.

9. mojito

mojito New Member

you can apply all kinds of shit at import into lightroom and yes you can import anything except network drives. You can move it or import from existing location.