Anyone thinking of going back to tiger?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Fail and aids, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. Fail and aids

    Fail and aids Cynical Motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a fairly new macbook (the white one) and it runs slow as shit with Leopard.

    Maybe I should either reinstall Tiger or maybe do a fresh install of Leopard.

    How does one back up apps? Do you just copy the apps folder and put it on a DVD?
     
  2. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,749
    Likes Received:
    8
    not i

    leopard runs fine for me. many programs are faster
     
  3. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    There are some things I don't really like about Leopard, but no thoughts of downgrading. I think the pluses outweigh the minuses.
     
  4. skolen

    skolen Guest

    I'm considering doing a wipe. I must've installed something that disagreed with it because I can no longer run a repair permissions, it hangs up on shutdown and the fans kick on for what used to be simple tasks.
     
  5. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    My iMac lags a little more now on Leopard...maybe cuz I did archive/install, :dunno:
     
  6. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i'm not going back
     
  7. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    my macbook definitely seems to have some extra zip after my leopard install.
     
  8. Rumble

    Rumble OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    my macbook seams way faster with leopard
     
  9. Fail and aids

    Fail and aids Cynical Motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i did one too. Maybe i should start fresh.
     
  10. Ariez

    Ariez OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    63,950
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Nue Yawk
    I would if i could just roll back, but im too lazy to format and install everything again. Leopard is running 'okay' no major trouble so I dont mind it. Tiger is just more robust.
     
  11. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    they both run about the same for me.
    leopard has cooler features.
     
  12. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I rolled my G4 tower back to Tiger. Installed Leopard on it and it wouldn't even play small videos with without stalling. Other machines I'll be running Leopard on.
     
  13. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    Not sure if this is true, but from my experience and the anecdotal evidence I've seen here and elsewhere Leopard seems faster than Tiger on Intel Macs but perhaps the same or even slower on PPC Macs.
     
  14. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Just finished reinstalling Leopard, currently restoring my user folder.

    It feels faster, but I haven't installed anything except Adium yet. The 2 restarts I had to do didn't hang up on me like before.

    With the CPU set to "automatic" under performance the fans will "breath", e.g. spin up & down repeatedly. When I set the performance to "highest" they seem to be behaving.

    It automatically downloaded the latest updates. I heard something about the Remote Assistant causing problems, so I chose not to install that at this time (don't really need it anyway). It's going to be a little over an hour before my folder finishes restoring, so we'll see how this goes starting tomorrow.
     
  15. moralpanic

    moralpanic New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    I came VERY close to going back to Tiger initially. I kept getting BSODs... well, i didn't actually get a blue screen like in Windows, instead my computer shut down as if i had initiate an actual shutdown (very deceptive... an error msg would at least tell me that something went wrong and OSX was shutting down), but then i found out that's a BSOD.

    But i've stuck with it, and things seem to be working fine now. I like Spaces and Stacks. Haven't used Time Machine, requiring an external HDD kinda kills that.

    I haven't noticed an increase in speed for me. It's a shame my Macbook isn't a Santa Rosa version, otherwise i would upgrade to 4GB ram.
     
  16. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    hell no, I love spaces :hs:

    And it's much snappier on my MBP :o
     
  17. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Can't say I have much use for Spaces other then having Windoze running in one from time to time. It's never been all that useful on Linux for years now either.
     
  18. Casino

    Casino Guest

    I won't go back to Tiger. I don't even use Leopard's new features though. I use stacks once in awhile. I just like it because it's faster and I like the new look.
     
  19. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    :werd: I have the 2.4 C2D with 2GB of ram and it's strong as hell.
     
  20. skolen

    skolen Guest

    So far I'm running smooth & problem free.

    Oh, and nothing makes you love the speed of FW800 more than transfering 352Gb of data in just under 3hrs.
     

Share This Page