Anyone play World of Warcraft on the new Macbook?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by assclown, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I'm thinking about updating to the new MacBook from my Macbook black. Originally I wanted the MBP for the better screen, higher resolution, better GPU and firewire but I'm not sure if those are worth the extra money to me.

    I realized that since I have a gaming PC, the only game I occasionally play on my laptop is WoW. Does anyone play it on the new Macbook? Can it handle it on max settings at its native resolution? :x:
     
  2. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    i doubt it. doesn't the macbook just have an integrated GPU? you'd probably want something better than that. also, doesn't WotLK bump up the minimum requirements?
     
  3. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    jeez man, the whole point of the new macbooks was the graphics, had did you miss that?

    wow will likely run just fine.
     
  4. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    really? man, i must have misread. i thought the new macbooks had better graphics than before, but still meh. solly. my bag.
     
  5. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    11 million people play WoW, and not one of them has a new Macbook on this forum? :hsugh:
     
  6. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    I doubt it will run very well... the engine actually had a pretty big improvement, if it does run you'll likely have to turn all the graphics settings down and it will look like trash and then whats the point northrend is amazing and you will only be able to see 2 feet in front of your face with blurry low res textures, I wouldn't even bother
     
  7. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    :ugh: I don't see why it would not. It runs Warhammer Online perfectly on high settings from what I've read.

    I have the new MacBook but no WoW on it... however, I've been recently having urges to start again, thanks to WotLK, so I may be getting back to you on that one sooner than I'd like :hs:
     
  8. Flameboyant

    Flameboyant Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hood Adjacent
    wotlk is sweet and you will be fine
     
  9. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    yeah I sometime play wow on my old macbook with 1/2 settings and get like 30-40fps most places and 20-25fps in cities.
     
  10. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    learn to ignore CodeX
     
  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    there are vids on youtube of the new mb playing wow.
     
  12. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    And like I said it runs like utter shit

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ci1ZiLQKlo

    And that is not even in northrend, my girlfriend used to play pre-WOTLK on her laptop all the time, but in northrend her framerate is half what it used to be because the graphics detail is so much higher.

    None of the videos I found showed anything in the new content, which is basically twice as demanding on the system as the old content was.
     
  13. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

  14. SinisterHand

    SinisterHand Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dayton
    Why hasn't he been banned from this subforum? :hsd:
     
  15. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    I love it how I post unpopular but true information and everyone calls for a ban... I linked to some youtube videos, I didn't make them, tell me why that is is ban worthy? Because you didn't like it?

    I am sorry the mac shack is some big hippy love-in and I am disrupting your karma or whatever...
     
  16. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    ban!
     
  17. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    :wavey:
     
  18. SinisterHand

    SinisterHand Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dayton
    Back to the thread topic, I just got WotLK and started a DK. With most of the settings on medium and a few on low I never dropped below 45fps; It is perfectly capable of running on the new macbook. Ultimately I would rather play on a desktop but it is totally playable on a macbook.
     
  19. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    Which ones are on low? view distance, texture quality, spell detail, and texture filtering amirite? That looks like shit, you can only see like 10 feet in front of you lol. Playable yeah, but not only will it look worse but you will actually be at a disadvantage because other people will see quest items, mining nodes, mobs, etc long before you will
     
  20. SinisterHand

    SinisterHand Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dayton
    The distance is on medium, however the ground texture and the clutter density and radius are low. Spell detail is on high but the shadows are on low. It is playable and I stated earlier that I would rather be on a desktop. For soloing you can totally do it on a macbook.
     
  21. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I did some research and people are claiming to be able to play it with the settings all on high, except for AA and shadows. Can you please confirm this for me? :x:

    Unfortunately on the Mac, shadows only have a high and low setting. The recent addition of realtime shadows REALLY adds to the experience IMO. Environments look much better and I've had some awesome moments where a huge dragon flew over me and I'd see its shadow, or a huge giant (Thyrm) would be right behind me and I wouldn't know until I saw his shadow.

    Anyway, I could deal with shadows on low and AA off when I'm not home, but I'd want everything else on high. :hs:
     
  22. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    How many different hardware setups are there for this laptop? Because this video clearly shows it cant, it runs like shit at what appears to be medium settings at best:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ci1ZiLQKlo

    And yeah, the shadows are amazing... the rest of the engine is a 2 and the shadows are a 10 its like wtf am I right?
     
  23. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,810
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    Oh, so a TWO YEAR OLD video proves that the 4 month old MacBook is a POS? Really?

    How can you possibly be this fucking stupid? :bowrofl:
     
  24. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    lol, I searched wow on macbook pro, I am clearly not a mac fan, I didn't know they re-use the same model name over and over for a decade.

    Still, give me footage of NEW (wotlk) content running on the laptop you are talking about
     
  25. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY

Share This Page