SRS Anyone on OT currently prescribed/ever taken Celexa?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by dano, Dec 29, 2006.

1. dano

dano OT Supporter

I've got a strange heart condition that is only brought on by panic attacks, and I finally got a psychiatrist to prescribe me something. I told her I really didn't want an SSRI because of the libido loss side effect but she said let's try it anyways. I'm also on 1 mg Xanax twice daily until the Celexa kicks in.

Who's on it/ever taken it in the past? I already searched all over the intraweb for side effects and all that jazz. I'm a nursing student and know what theoretically it's supposed to do and what to expect, but I'd just like some opinions from real people.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2006
  2. Dr. Funk

Dr. Funk OT Supporter

I took it a few years ago. I found it was making me sleep too much. That was pretty much it so I went off it.

3. dano

dano OT Supporter

Making you sleep too long at night, or drowsy during the day?

4. AlcoLOLic

AlcoLOLic New Member

Celexa really screwed with me for the first 6 weeks...it was never the same way. I would either have no effect and then BAM I would not be able to work properly during the day because I was so zonked out, or I would be just tired all the time. The biggest side effect was the reduced libido...I have SAD sometimes so I don't take it all the time (not at all for several years) and the last time I had to my girlfriend at the time really complained.

However, once over the hump (it's different for everyone) you begin to feel normal. Things don't faze you and your thinking is clear. The best thing, for me, when I took Celexa was waking up on the occasional morning in the midst of what I can call a mental orgasm. It was just...sensational...just an incredible overwhelming feeling of euphoria. Sort of like the first time you were in love, except on steroids.