anyone know why computer C2D idles at 53° C

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by legendr34, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    its a E6400 overclocked to 2.8GHz with this huge HSF

    [​IMG]

    I even have the case open
     
  2. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    thermal paste? Reseat?
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,742
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    gotta be the paste, too much is a bad thing

    my e2200 ;)
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I guess I can't say that it isn't just the spec of the processor, as I have no experience with the E6x series, but my Q9300 idles at about 44(OC'd to 3.0) and full load is about 60.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who cares what it idles at? Run Prime95 for an hour and see if it overheats. If it doesn't, you're fine.
     
  6. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    thx, i ordered a pack of diamond 7 thermal compound
     
  7. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    my e6400 @ 3.2 idles at like 40
    a ninja sits on top of it though

    [​IMG]
     
  8. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    i have the ninja too
     
  9. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    i put the compound and now it idles at 43!! at 3.2GHz, it was 53 at 2.8GHz before. OT is the smart
     
  10. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Shhh...don't let the other areas of this forum know.
     
  11. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ah ok, your pic is broken I couldn't see

    glad you got it fixed :bigthumb:
     
  12. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    :eek3:

    wtf sort of temps should I be seeing on a P4 2.8ghz?

    It has a Zalman quiet cooler thing and idles at about 53 too. Used some old arctic silver paste crap on it.
     
  13. The Great Deceiver

    The Great Deceiver 21st Century Schizoid Man

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    59,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Too much heat production
     
  14. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    My old retail box Sony P4 1.8 would idle at 55-60 (can't remember exactly)....
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's producing the same amount of heat no matter what. The idle temperature only indicates how much of that heat is getting dissipated into the case.

    Anyway, I was thinking about this some more and I seriously doubt it's a problem with too much heatsink goop; the spring force holding the heatsink against the CPU will squeeze out any excess over a few days, especially once it heats up and thins out a bit. I've never taken a heatsink off an old computer and seen a big glob of heatsink goop between the heatsink and CPU, it's always squeezed out to the edges by then.
     
  16. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    I've always wondered about that myself. I always hear that there are two ways of applying the paste. One is to spread a thin layer and the other is to put a grain of rice sized amount in the middle and let the heatsink spread it. Well, if the second option works then it would be impossible to put too much on as any excess would just seap out the sides, otherwise the second method wouldn't work because it wouldn't spread the paste properly and/or leave a mound of it in the middle.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I expect the problem of too much paste was more likely an issue back when computers used cheap, light heatsinks that didn't need strong springs to hold them in place. That's not the case anymore.

    I apply my paste in a thin layer across the entire CPU die. That way I know there won't be any missed spots.
     
  18. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Any hints towards a safe temp on this 2.8ghz P4 under 100% load?

    Currently clocked at just over 3.2GHz and temp has hardly budged under load, gets to 60 max :noes:

    I'd have thought the whole 256mb of ram would have shit itself by now.
     
  19. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    60C is fine. My Athlon XP 3000 used to max out at 80C, and I've since moved it to a bigger case with a better heatsink, and it still works, so I don't pay any attention to the temperature anymore.
     
  20. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Now up to 3.4GHZ and still not seeing a rise in temp. :noes:

    Not sure I would be getting these results if this lot was mounted in a case :mamoru:

    Edit: Looks like I should be able to get more out of this http://www.legitreviews.com/article/102/2/

    That said they have some decent RAM and a sensible PSU. I have 256mb of Infineon RAM and a 200W PSU i've borrowed from a DELL...
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  21. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Like I said, mine would idle around that temp, always did. I bought it in 2002 and it still runs fine aside from being slow as shit (partly because of a failing disc drive). Its not behind my TV as my HTPC.
     
  22. TheRooTy

    TheRooTy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    wow u think 53 is bad im always at 60-80C
     
  23. Toology

    Toology New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins
    temps don't matter as long as under full load your comp isn't boot cycling... who gives a fuck. my e8400 runs like the god damn sun but my comp works fine, who gives a shit.
     
  24. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Always thought it was a good indicator that you were going to kill your CPU a lot quicker than intended :dunno:

    Got mine running at just over 3.7GHz now and it hits 63-64 under full load. Removed the Northbridge fan as it was noisy as hell at 6000rpm and appeared to do NOTHING to the temps :ugh2:

    Designed and started building my new case for it too. As I started putting the bits together as a mockup I relaised I had seen a similar design before:

    [​IMG]
    :rofl: oh well.. Rear, sides and base are all 4mm Alu. Front/Top is going to be mesh.

    Gives me something to do at work at least..
     

Share This Page