anyone know anything about mr2's

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by NCS, Jul 25, 2006.

1. NCS

NCS Active Member

the latest models. im considering one as a commuter car thats also fun.

as far as kicking the rear end out when you drive, how is it? i dont mean mad dorifto skillz or anthing, just having fun. i heard the 90's models were hard to control in a drift of any kind

thanks

2. The Sirc

The Sirc Guest

I know pretty much everythign there is to know about the Spyder.

If you do plan on buying a Spyder, I would suggest spending a lot of time in a parking lot just flogging it to find it's breaking point. They are hard, if not impossible to get back into control if you lose it. I've been driving them, racing MR2's amateurly for 3 years now and have hundreds of hours of driving time with them. They are hard to drive.

If you want, you shold go check out my MR2 for sale in the yardsale forum. If you want something "fun" but also a daily commuter, I'd suggest getting the MKII's because they will be much more of a "highway" car than the Spyder. You have to mod the spyder some to make it have car passing abilities. Plus the MKII makes you look like a rich cockwad.

3. NCS

NCS Active Member

i appreciate the post. i can't buy your car as i live in europe.

im getting rid of my 94 miata. it has too much vibration and twitchy steering input for me to just kick back and drive to work in a straight line without getting tired.

i'd really like to replace it with a small 2 seater roadster and the mr2 is the only thing i can think of. i've driven one on the freeway, seems OK. honestly there's enough power for the type of driving i'll be doing on there.

I can also get a mk2 turbo here, there's one on sale... but i dont get the "rich cockwad" look you're talking about here. its an older car, i don't think it gives off the rich cockwad look at all. sure for car guys, but im talking general public.

4. The Sirc

The Sirc Guest