MMA anyone here work as a doorman/bounce?

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Martin Atchet, Aug 30, 2009.

1. stories? pro's or cons?

2. kopetzki

kopetzki Banned

i think Vulgar has been doing it for a long time

3. sweet i just started as a doorman at a local bar. liking it a lot so far.

4. MyLittleAirport

MyLittleAirport OT Supporter

I don't but a LOT of the people who train at my academy all bounce at a club nearby.

5. Socrates

Socrates New Member

I worked as a floor bouncer for almost a year at Electric Cowboy in Springfield, MO.

It's cool for the first month or two, but then it gets miserable.

Real fights occured maybe once a month, and if you aren't in the area, the other bouncers have it taken care of before you can get to it.

The music becomes redundant, especially when they play the same sequence each night. Hearing "Lolli Lolli" after "Cha Cha Slide" for 10 months straight got old VERY fast.

The crowd is 70% the SAME. You'll typically see the regulars in there doing the same shit more than you would want to. The same guys getting in fights (until you ban them), and the same people dancing the same way during the same songs.

Even if you do the coolest takedown in history, the other bouncers are picking the guy up and taking him out before you can choke him in any way. If you beat on him, you have no business being a bouncer.

You'll meet a few girls, but usually the gossip spreads through employees and regulars and you'll get a "whore" reputation. The super hot girls I liked didn't like me half of the time because they heard rumors that I slept with some nasty girl (which was only true half the time :wiggle:).