WEB anyone here use amazon s3 servers?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by marcom10, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. marcom10

    marcom10 ...

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    anyone? im thinking about using them..
     
  2. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    i have in the past
     
  3. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    what do you use?

    i like s3 as a CDN, i also like that it eliminates a bunch of hardware issues
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    works great
     
  5. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    how do you guys justify the costs, my biggest problem is the bandwidth costs :/
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Scalability is a big reason for me... technically *I* don't front the bill for AWS, but using S3 vs. buying all the hardware, etc it was an easy win.
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    oh, and i use it for my EC2 user mode FS's. Which doesn't really house much data and I think transferring data between AWS services is free
     

Share This Page