MIL anyone here full-time guard?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by insomnia, Mar 26, 2008.

1. insomnia

insomnia New Member

I'd appreciate any input, I have absolutely no clue about it's. From what I was told, I would have the same job as what I've got now... but I'd be a Technician and making WG-10 pay rates, as like a guard/civilian hybrid thing? :wtf:

I really have no clue how any of this shit works, any links to just the basic information alone would be great.

2. Ranger-AO

Ranger-AO I'm here for the Taliban party. Moderator

All of the benefits of active duty. :coold:

Usually have to be a card-carrying member of the good old boy club to be considered for the position, though. And/or have very loose jaw muscles and the ability to suppress your gag reflex. :hsugh:

3. insomnia

insomnia New Member

apparently their average total AF experience is 2 years with the guys they have at Phase, i've got 3 years of phase experience and a few flightline... plus their phase dock alone is taking 12 positions :noes:

Can you be bumped from full time to one weekend a month bullshit?

4. ManinCamo

ManinCamo I wear big boy pants.

I tried for a ART, Air Reserve Technician, sort of the Reserve equivilant of a AGR (Active Guard & Reserve) position, at the base my father retired out of. His old cronies were the leadership (see: Good old boys club) but there was just nothing available.

They're hard to come by, but are the best of both worlds. You wear a uniform all week, but you're a civilian during the week. On your drill weekends you just show up and do your drill job.

5. Jeg1983

Jeg1983 OT Supporter

Nah you become union, the BS that can come with AD is usually blocked by the union.

If you like what you do its a great thing, I thought about doing it and have a bunch of friends who are ARTs now and love it.

6. mikeflys1

mikeflys1 New Member