A&P Anyone have photos with embedded GPS data?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by TurkeyChicken, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I'm working on a new site that tries to extract GPS data from photos. I have it working for photos taken on my iPhone but don't have access to any others.

    I want to make sure my script can handle GPS data embedded from other sources.

    It doesn't matter what the photo is, but if you have one, can you email me or send me a link to the photo?

    [email protected]

    Thanks :coold:
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    all i have is my iPhone.
     
  3. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm thinking about picking up a GP-1 before heading to europe this summer. I think I'd like to be able to look back and see my exact locations :dunno:
     
  5. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Thanks Ace! Looks like it encodes the same way as the iphone :coold:
     
  6. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
  7. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    So you can hook that to yoour 40D? How exactly does it all work? Any good places to read about it?
     
  8. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    it doesn't have any connection to the 40D. it's a stand-alone GPS gizmo that you turn on & clip to something.

    start taking a bunch of pics, download your pics, then load the software that comes with the unit. As long as the time on the GPS is within a minute or so of the clock on the camera, it will look at the time you shot a certain photo, then look for the same GPS coordinates at the same time. Then the GPicSync software updates your exif info on the pic, and that's it.

    Upload the shots to flickr, and it will map out where your photo was taken.

    looks like this. i've clipped it to golf bags, belt loops, and my camera backpack numerous times.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    That's some cool shit :cool:
     
  10. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    i travel quite a bit, so it's really been pretty cool to have it & know exactly where i took the pic.

    it's a bit difficult to get it completely right, but for the most part, once you get it setup once, it's not too bad.

    i'd like to get something that plugs right into the camera & does it on the fly, though.
     
  11. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    Something like that would probably have to come direct from canon/nikon though, or with a body embeding the data directly. :sad2:
     
  12. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Nikon makes one. Canon doesnt because they suck giant fat balls
     
  13. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    And thanks for all the info Ace. I think Im going to look into one. I suppose you can just set the time on them both and "start" them at the same time so theyre even within seconds of one another?
     
  14. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,632
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    no sweat.

    there's really nothing to "start". the gps-cs1 software sets the time on the gps, so i really just try to make sure that's about the same.

    then usually i'll take a picture of something that's obvious where i took it ... the GPicSync software will then let you 'adjust' the time differential between the camera & the gps log, so you can pretty easily figure out the difference between the two.

    sounds complicated, but it's really not.
     
  15. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    Or maybe canon didn't feel it either wasn't cost effective, or not enough of a demand for it. but that's ok, you have fun paying through the nose for something that's not much better (if at all) for it's counterparts. ;)
     

Share This Page