WEB Anyone have exp moving VB forums to new server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by daballer2005, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. daballer2005

    daballer2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    816 up in this bitch
    I think i got a huge break in my site and have an oppurtunity to make it huge within the next year. Dreamhost is slow and i plan on hosting big files so i want to move to a ded host, most likely with http://hostdime.com
    Do i just backup my database through my CP with dreamhost then back up it through vb? I'm a complete noob to this:wtc:
     
  2. Vtec44

    Vtec44 OG!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I did it a few years back, moved from Hostway to Pair because of performance issues. I backed up all of the PHP files, the database, edit the config.php for VB, restored the database via a shell account & uploaded all the php files to the new host. I don't remember exactly, it was a while back, but there were a few minor things broke. For the most part, the move was pretty straight forward. You should double check with the support people at vbulletin.com just in case.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2007
  3. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    its easy.

    1. .tar files
    2. place files in your public directory
    3. wget http://yoursite.com/forum.tar
    4. export entire database as file to your desktop.
    5. create database with user on new server
    6. import .sql file to new server using phpmyadmin (if available).
    7. change name servers

    profit?
     
  4. vincentfasho

    vincentfasho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    lol.

    dr pepper is exactly right. if it's over 2gb you have to wgter using ftp instead of http protocol.

    if it's cpanel webhosting, all you have to do is generate a full cpanel backup by doing these commands

    /scripts/pkgacct <username> or go to cPanel and click generate full back up.

    Then wget it to the new server of FTP, whicever.. and run /scripts/restorepkg <username>
     
  5. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant add to the perfect responses by pepper and vincent, but i can say that its generally a very easy procedure.
    Ive done it numerous times and its a walk in the park.
     
  6. 2ofdem

    2ofdem OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    114,853
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    aus.vic.mel
    got root access on both machines?

    Linux and mysql?

    mysqldumb -uUSERNAME -p DBname > whatever.sql this will prompt for a password for the db server do this in a public directory so you can wget it from the other box.

    then on the other box
    mysql -uUSERNAME -p DBname < whatever.sql
     
  7. daballer2005

    daballer2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    816 up in this bitch
    what about the theme and shit im running on my current one, with all teh plugins and shit. should i just dl everything from my ftp and up it to the new server?
     
  8. Vtec44

    Vtec44 OG!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    You can export the themes if you're that paranoid. The pluggins should work if you set all the paths properly. I'd disable them prior to the move and enable them back once you're on the new server.
     
  9. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    as long as the directory structure remains the same, you should be able to ftp it right back up and have no issues.
     

Share This Page