Anyone have apple remote desktop?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dmora, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. dmora

    dmora Guest

    I find myself desiring the ability to remotely access my mac :hs:
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    it wouldn't work for me, and neither does back to my mac. :wtc: i guess i just suck at configuring it all, even tho I'm 99% sure i'm doing it correctly.
     
  3. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I use Apple Remote Desktop fairly often. Works pretty well when I'm away from home or when I wanna control one of my other machines from the other room. You can always use Chicken of the VNC if you want a free option.

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/cotvnc/
     
  4. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use it.
     
  5. JKwikkel

    JKwikkel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20,850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I use it, but using vnc from my pc at work. Just forward the ports in my router and use DynDNS so I don't have to memorize my IP
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    ard is pretty good.
     
  7. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Its built into Leopard if you have a .mac account.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    you have to pay to use remote desktop :ugh2:
     
  9. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    I get .mac through work. I'd probably pay for it now though anyways. I like it.
     
  10. fatass

    fatass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    why does it cost money? is it that good?
     
  11. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Apple Remote Desktop costs money because it allows you to do much more then just control other machines. For IT applications it's nice because you can remotely roll out software and updates to machines. If you are just looking to control a machine remotely it may be overkill and you should just go with a free VNC program like Chicken of the VNC.

    You really have to use .Mac to see the value in paying the yearly fee for it. I didn't think it was worth the $99/yr til my work threw me on one of their accounts. Now I've found that I like it a lot and would pay for it myself if I had to. It's nice for syncing bookmarks and other info between all of your machines and the hosting space provided is nice too. Sure there are other applications and services that allow you to do the same thing but the integration with the OS makes it worth the price.
     
  12. dmora

    dmora Guest

    Yea i dont have .mac.
     
  13. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Download Chicken of the VNC and you're set. May want to sign up for a dynamic DNS account so you only have connect to whatever.dnydns.org instead of having to record your IP address. Get a free one at dyndns.org
     

Share This Page