Anyone ever gotten Incoming VPNs working on XP Pro?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this on my mom's notebook from my iBook, and it won't work. I followed the very clear instructions I found on the net at microsoft.com and other places. And I made sure that the firewall stuff is turned off.

    So, I tried again today from an XP Pro machine, to an XP Pro machine, remotely and across a LAN... it won't work. It never connects. Same as before. My iBook wouldn't work either.

    So now I am going to use OpenVPN, but I didn't have time to get the keys exchanges and the config files edited before I left, so I'll have to do this monday.

    Kinda annoys me about MS VPNs not working though... what did I do wrong? It just seems like it doesn't actually function, even though it supposed to. I've set this up using routing and remote access in Windows 2000 AS and it was no problem at all. But this XP stuff just really does not seem to function whatsoever.

    This link shows the instructions I followed... it looks pretty easy, but it just won't work. http://www.zdnetasia.com/insight/network/0,39044847,39050037-39000223c-1,00.htm

    I wanted to test the list feature, too.

    1. Test
    2. test
    3. test
     
  2. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    Just follow the instructions and it works fine, do you have some oddball router/firewall that might be causing problems?
     
  3. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't even work across the LAN, with all firewalling on both machines turned off.
     
  4. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    Why would you vpn across a lan? I am not even sure if that would work (conflicting IP addresses or what not).

    IS IPsec/vpn passthrough enabled on the router?
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    PPTP pass-through is configured. And if it will work across the router through NAT, it will work across the LAN. I tested across the LAN after it didn't work through the router to eliminate that variable. The XP Pro box serving the VPNs can't tell the difference between the router sending it a VPN request an another host doing so.
     
  6. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    I have had it work but it was very limited.

    It was kind of complicated setting it up and I had to do some tweeking from the original white paper.

    Basically my connection to the VPN would work but I was locked in to that connection I could not use my local connection if that makes sense. I was trying to setup a Pocket PC exchange server kinda thing...needless to say I failed.
     

Share This Page